A Glast From the Past – Photo Memories..

I performed in the Cabaret tent a few times down at Worthy Farm, back in the day, and the jury is still out on exactly which year these photos are from. I initially thought 1990, but some Twitter folk have placed the Sandinista T-short worn by Brian Mulligan of Skint Video, as more likely late 80s, so my money is on 87. But, you might say, if you can remember what year you were at Glastonbury, then you weren’t really there..

Image (6)

Left to right, Robin Quinn, Brenda Gilhooly, Steve Gribbin, Brian Mulligan, Mark Thomas, Mark Hurst, Unknown..

I do recall a bunch of us comics and friends, travelling down in a van, singing Oliver’s Army, and stopping off to buy wellies on the way, and then being sort of disappointed that I never got to wear them, as it was great weather all weekend. On a previous year, our agent , the much missed Addison Cresswell had been so concerned about ‘his boys’ being mud-locked that he booked us all into a B&B outside the site for the weekend. That was also a year of excellent weather, much to the chagrin of roadie Wizo, also  sadly missed, who had to drive us in and out of the site every day..

Image (4)

Skint Video straddling Glasto stalwart Atilla The Stockbroker, in the hospitality tent..

Sue Bradley & Peter Baynes

Sue Bradley & Peter Baynes

Sue Bradley who I first met when she was in Brighton based musical funsters Pookiesnackenburger. Here, she seems to be training a human Emu (Peter Baynes) in the Circus Field.  Then there’s the Skints with Atilla in the Hospitality Tent

Image (9)

The Natural Theatre Company: Coneheads.

Also Charmian Hughes, who still wears a good hat and still comperes there…and Andy Smart, then with The Viscious Boys,and John Moloney who I witnessed have the single worse case of hay fever I have ever seen, and I thought I got bad myself. Looks OK here though..   Kept coming across these lot too, The Natural Theatre Company’s Coneheads, which could be a bit disconcerting of you were stoned or heavily hung-over..

L to R: Charmian Hughes, Brina Mulligan, John Moloney, Andy Smart (then of The Vicious Boys)

L to R: Charmian Hughes, Brina Mulligan, John Moloney, Andy Smart (then of The Vicious Boys)

So that was my Glasto, 87, or 90, or, who knows? I do remember that the late lamenented, legendary, Malcolm Hardee slept under the stage in the Cabaret tent, but he probably did every year.

''I think you have to move it yourself, before it does tricks''. L to R: Robin Quinn, Brian Mulligan, Mark Hurst.

”I think you have to move it yourself, before it does tricks”.
L to R: Robin Quinn, Brian Mulligan, Mark Hurst.

And I did eventually crack the Chinese Whistling Diablo that I bought, and learned sevral tricks. I still have it. it’s scuffed and chipped, but still whistling. A bit like me..

Our Reservoir Dogs Moment.. L to R: Steve Gribben, Brian Mulligan, John Moloney, Sean Hughes, Mark Hurst, Robin Quinn.

Our Reservoir Dogs Moment..
L to R: Steve Gribben, Brian Mulligan, John Moloney, Sean Hughes, Mark Hurst, Robin Quinn.

Leave a Reply

