The ExhausTing Tings – That’s Not My Name

M.E AWARE

There’s an estimated 250,000 M.E. sufferers in the U.K. and thousands more worldwide.
With a lack of properly funded research and no cure, people with M.E. are marginalised and often left to cope alone and without much support.

Whilst there can still be an ‘all in the mind’ stigma attached to the illness, this has improved a lot and M.E. is recognized and defined as a neurological condition. But just because patients are accepted as being physically and not psychologically ill, treatments and management techniques are limited and do not help many sufferers.

The lyrics below are not meant to be a joke, rather a reminder that we are here, we have hopes and dreams, and rights, even if we cannot do much at times, or for the worst affected, can do nothing at all.
People end up being defined by their symptoms can get labelled, and left behind.

Everyone with M.E. has a name. Please share this, and feel free to add your name if you have M.E. or the name of someone you know who has M.E. Or just your own, if you support us. Thanks.

That’s Not My Name

Two letter word that I’ve known for too long
It’s a difficulty and I’m biting on my tongue and I
I keep stalling, keeping it together
People around gotta find something to say now

Holding back, everyday the same
Don’t wanna be a loner
Listen to me, oh no
I never say anything at all
But with nothing to consider they forget my name
(ame, ame, ame)

They call me tired
They call me achey
They call me flat
They call me lame
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
They call me Faker
Procrastinator
A Couch Potato
Like it’s a game
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

So alone all the time at night
Lock myself away
Listen to me, I’m not
Although I’m messed up, indoors, and with
Everything considered they forget my name
(ame ame ame)

They call me Slack
They call me Hazy
They call me Down
Always the same
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
They call me Drained
They call me Sickly
Gets Worn Out Quickly
It’s such a shame
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

Here’s a link to Action For M.E if you are interested in finding out more http://www.actionforme.org.uk/

3 thoughts on “The ExhausTing Tings – That’s Not My Name

  1. Happy May 12th friends,

    It is with great pleasure today that we announce the creation of “Advocating4ME”, a multi-national group of grassroots activists working together to raise funds for the most promising scientific research studies for Myalgic encephalomyelitis anywhere across the world. If possible, I would encourage you to come over and check out what we have planned in the near future 🙂

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Advocating4ME/1606524889591699

Leave a Reply

