5, 4, 3, 2, 1. Go Shopping!

thun

I didn’t watch the new Thunderbirds. It may be bad marionettiquette to admit, but sorry, I never liked the original. I would have had a look at the new one, if I’d been at home, but I was out shopping when it re-launched. Plenty of my (usually male) school mates were big fans and had all the spin-off toys, but not me, though I did get a Joe 90 colouring book, as I recall. I fared a little better with him, maybe It was the comically oversized specs that made him a bit more appealing.

I also did had a bit of a Captain Scarlet phase, too, but I think that was mainly because of the theme tune, which was fun to ball out, Captain Scarlet, de de de, de DE!’,’ whilst jumping off the settee. But the string puppet thing never did it for me. Maybe there’s some psychologist who could explain the appeal/non-appeal.

Anyway, for all the die-hards, I hope the reboot wasn’t a let down. I’ll catch it at some point but I can’t see me becoming a late onset fan now, to be honest. Of course, if you’re a true fan, you’ll still have the Blue Peter, Tracy Island model gathering dust somewhere, won’t you? No? Well, it’s on YT, so go on, get out the sticky backed plastic and cereal boxes and have it finished in time for next week’s episode..

.

Leave a Reply

